Our Mission

South Carolina Perinatal Association (SCPA) promotes education initiatives, influences public policy, fosters delivery of optimal family centered care and provides leadership on issues of perinatal health in an effort to improve the health status of women, infants and children.

 

We Accomplish this by:

  • Advocating on behalf of mothers and infants in South Carolina

  • Partnering with organizations such as: The March of Dimes; South Carolina Neonatal Medical Consortium; South Carolina Birth Outcomes Initiative and South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control

  • Creating educational opportunities for perinatal professionals such as: conferences, webinars and lectures

 
 

Love working with other people while making a difference in the area of perinatal health? If so, then you would be perfect serving on one of our committees. SCPA is always looking for creative and enthusiastic members to keep our association moving in the right direction. We are sure you will find the perfect committee in which you can be involved!

Education Committee

The Education Committee focuses its efforts on improving perinatal outcomes and services through education. We develop and coordinate educational opportunities through our Web-Café’s as well as our Café Lecture Series which are held in each perinatal region in South Carolina. We contribute to the SCPA’s newsletter “Perinatal News” through article ideas and article development as necessary.

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee is responsible for recruiting and retaining members to SCPA. We exhibit at regional and statewide conferences to showcase the great strides our association has made with improving the health of women, infants and children in an effort to bring additional great people to our wonderful association.

Public Affairs Committee

The Public Affairs Committee advocates for public policy to improve the health status of women, infants and children. The committee provides the membership with legislative updates in the SCPA newsletter and provides alerts when immediate actions are needed on a policy issue. The committee sponsors trainings and forums for educating members and the public about specific issues and tips for contacting legislators.

Education Committee
Chair: Michelle Flanagan
Michelle.Flanagan@palmettohealth.org
Phone: 803-434-7243 
Fax: 803-434-4309

Membership Committee
Chair: Cheryl Suttles
csuttles@srhs.com
Phone: (864) 560-2221
Fax: (864) 560-2295

Public Affairs Committee
Chair: Tammy Connolly
TConnolly@amerihealthcaritas.com
Phone: (843) 259-8286
Fax: (864) 560-2295

The SCPA Board is a diverse group of perinatal professionals from across the state of South Carolina, all of whom are passionate about making a difference in the lives of childbearing women and infants. We meet quarterly in Columbia, to discuss current issues in perinatal health and develop a strategic plan to address those issues. With over 200 general members currently, we welcome you to become a part of this dynamic team.

2018 Board Members

SCPA Executive Committee

President

Chaka Davis, MPH, MSN, RNC
Palmetto Health 
Chaka.Davis@palmettohealth.org 

Secretary

Michell Hatcher, BSN, RN
Aiken Regional Medical Center
michell.hatcher@gmail.com

2018 Committees

President Elect

Lynn Wellman, MS, APRN
Palmetto Health Richland
Lynn.Wellman@palmettohealth.org

Past President

Michelle Flanagan, RNC
Palmetto Health Richland
michelle.flanagan@palmettohealth.org

Treasurer

Meg Jewell, MA
Greenville Hospital System
mjewell@ghs.org

Education

Michelle Flanagan, RNC, BSN
Palmetto Health Richland
michelle.flanagan@palmettohealth.org

Membership Chair

Cheryl Suttles, BSN, RNC, CLC
Spartanburg Regional Medical Center
csuttles@srhs.com

2018 Regional Representatives

Public Affairs

Tammy Connolly, RN, BSN, CCM
Select Health of South Carolina

TConnolly@amerihealthcaritas.com

Newsletter Co-Editors

Debi Love-Ballard, R.N.  
McLeod Health Clarendon
debra.lovefralix@mcleodhealth.org

Nicky Littlejohn, RNC-NIC, BSN, MBA
McLeod Regional Medical Center
nlittlejohn@mcleodhealth.org

Low Country Perinatal Region

Kathy Ray, RN, MSN
MUSC, Division of Pediatrics-Neonatology
rayk@musc.edu

Pee Dee Perinatal Region

Cheryl A. Neuner, BSN, RNC
McLeod Regional Medical Center
cneuner@mcleodhealth.org

2018 Discipline Representatives

Piedmont Perinatal Region

Meg Jewell, MA
Greenville Health System
mjewell@ghs.orga

Midlands Perinatal Region

Lynn Wellman, MS, APRN
Palmetto Health Richland
Lynn.Wellman@palmettohealth.org

Social Work

Laamkia Purvis
Family Solutions of the Low Country
lpurvis.FSLC@scorh.net

Nursing 

Sara Beth Martin, RN, MPH
Sarabeth.martin@nursefamilypartnership.org

Medicine

Timothy J. Harkins, MD, FACOG 
Carolina Women’s Center
THarkins@ghs.org

March of Dimes 

Ashley Wendt, MPH
SC March of Dimes
AWendt@marchofdimes.org

Community

Kimberly R. Alston
Palmetto Health
Kimberly.Alston@PalmettoHealth.org